Library new typewriter?

Is the Library the new typewriter? Today as I was reading a book, flipping through the pages and wondering who read it before, what did they think, where has this been. It hit me, would my children never even know what books where like, how they felt in your hands and the great satisfaction of flipping to the last page.
Its like for me, my mom and dad telling horror stories about their typewriter in college, and don’t get me wrong the couple applications I had to do in High school on it, I understood, the computer was the best thing possible and amazing and changed the way “we” went to college and wrote. I remember one class one of my old professors telling us about his Ph.D paper and how he wrote it on a typewriter, truthfully I don’t know how the hell they did it…I would of hated college, no spell check, no delete key…..I can’t even consider it.

With all the buzz about the kindle, and now the ipad will it happen to books and libraries. Book stores are closing, also part to amazon and online sources. But even if we can download new books and have 20 books on this tiny little thing and care it around, it will be nice. Don’t get me wrong it would be super nice for travel or road trips. But I must say there is still nothing like the weight of a book in your hand and turning that last page and a feel of knowledge and/or joy. and what about children books, no pop-outs or trying to touch the characters…..

I don’t know and I hope that the hardcover/paperback book is not the new typewriter. It will be interestingto see how the industry changes over the next couple of year. Maybe soon we will not be able to remember that weight. But one thing is for sure Libraries are special, and I miss them so much. Just being able to go in and get 5 books that looked great beacuse, yes I judged them by their cover and read them next to the fire with a cup of tea at my side.
Nothing is as wonderful as that.

What do you think, is the book/library the new typewriter, if so why or why not?

About AEK
A graduate student at St. Kate's in the MAOL program where I'm a Peace Corps Fellow. I'm a Returned Peace Corps Volunteer from Bulgaria 2008-10. I have a B.A. in Anthropology from Luther College, where I gained my love for travel.

Leave a comment